What is Open Source ? in my POV..

During 2013 my college 1st year I heard the term Open Source from my senior. Its all new to me. All software are free !!! I'm excited to hear this. This makes me curious to know about the full history.

We are mostly used Windows as Operating System. But it is not open source. At that time I found a Ubuntu. And read more about open source software's. In simple term open source is the code of the software is available to all.

We can use the code fully free of cost. We also add, edit and modify the code for our own use but with the permission of the author of the code.

i.e. If your friend narrate a story to you. But you have some addition storyline to be add to make the story interesting. You ask your friend to adding your opinion. He said okay and add the storyline to his story. And it make sense. Just like the example comes to code.

Open Source Software's are made by like minded people contributing to the project by their own interest. Today we use lots of open source software's. It was made by number of open source contributors effort.

We should contribute to open source. It gives lots of benefits to improve your coding career. It make your network wide.